Fallon nabs 8 All-State football selections

With success comes the spoils.

For the Fallon football team, it means all-state accolades. Eight Greenwave standouts received recognition by the Division I-A coaches for their on-field performance.

Quarterback Morgan Dirickson was named the division’s Offensive Player of the Year, while wide receiver Tyler Bagby, kick returner Cameron Matzen, linebackers Dakota Schelling and Trent Tarner and defensive lineman Justin Hatfield earned first-team all-state honors. On the second team were offensive lineman Brennan Lewis and cornerback Nathan Heck.

The eight all-state selections lifted Fallon to a 10-2 record and its first state championship game in 35 years losing 17-0 to Faith Lutheran.

Dirickson was also named the Northern Division I-A Offensive Player of the Year, while Schelling was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year.

Dirickson completed 95 of 192 passes for 2,244 yards (postseason included) with 32 touchdowns and eight interceptions. He had a career day against Elko in which he threw for 440 yards and seven TDs.

Schelling anchored one of the best defenses in the state and tallied 99 total tackles (nine for a loss), had seven sacks and two interceptions with one returned for a TD.

Bagby had a breakout season with 30 receptions for 875 yards and nine TDs. He recorded 33 tackles and was second on the team with five interceptions.

Matzen, meanwhile, made a name for himself with four TDs in the Wave’s first game of the season against Wooster. He returned seven punts for TDs and averaged 27.7 yards per punt return. He also had six kickoff returns for 152 yards.

Tarner tallied 29 tackles, had two interceptions and four fumble recoveries, while Hatfield led the defense with nine sacks and 70 tackles.

Heck, meanwhile, had 58 tackles, a team-high 13 passes defended, two interceptions and two fumble recoveries.

Lewis was the leader on the offensive line as his hard-nosed play opened holes for Tarner and protected Dirickson.

Lowry quarterback Calvin Connors was named the division’s Most Valuable Player, Vernon Fox of Faith Lutheran was Coach of the Year and Moapa Valley’s Justin Hughes and Mat McDermand were tabbed defensive and lineman of the year, respectively. McDermand recently gave a verbal commitment to play at the University of Nevada.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment