Local field set for election

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF

The local races are set for the 2014 election.

Five seats, though, will be uncontested, while the race for the Churchill County School District Board of Trustees features five candidates. The Mosquito, Vector Control and Weed Abatement Board has four individuals battling, while the Public Administrator, Recorder and sheriff races each has two candidates.

The primary election is June 10 and the general election is Nov. 4. Early voting for both elections will be at the Churchill County Administration Complex, 155 N. Taylor St., in the county commission chambers.

Election day voting will be held at the Fallon Convention Center, 100 Campus Way.

CCSD Trustees and incumbents Rich Gent, Clay Hendrix and Nona McFarlane all filed on Friday, while Carmen Schank submitted her paperwork on Thursday. They will be challenged by Matt Hyde, who filed on March 7.

Only four of the five will be elected to a four-year term. Schank is running for her first full term on the board after she was appointed to fill the vacancy left by Dennis Gailey’s resignation. Schank won re-election in 2012.

The top four candidates will be elected to the school board.

Incumbents Christy Lattin, Jay Lingenfelter and Michael Spencer all filed for re-election for the Mosquito, Vector Control and Weed Abatement Board with Joe Jordan submitting his candidacy as the lone challenger.

Voters will elect three of the four candidates.

Incumbent Ben Trotter squares off against Jay Horsley for sheriff, Jamie Dellera and Tasha Hessey are running for recorder and Bob Getto Jr. and Stuart James MacKie tangle for the Public Administrator seat.

The uncontested races feature incumbents for Churchill County Commissioner (Pete Olsen), Clerk/Treasurer (Kelly G. Helton), District Attorney (Art Mallory) and Tenth Judicial District Court Judge (Tom Stockard). Denise L. Mondhink-Felton will run unopposed for the county Assessor seat.

Of the uncontested races, only Stockard will be on the primary ballot. He only needs one vote to secure the six-year term as judge.

The other local offices, meanwhile, will be determined during the general election in November.

Statewide seats up for election are governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, state controller, state treasurer, attorney general (all four-year terms) and two seats on the Nevada Supreme Court (six years).

Other state seats include 42 in the state assembly (two years) and 11 for the state senate (four years).

All four seats for the U.S. House of Representatives are up as well.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment