Candidate filing open until March 18

City races to coincide with county, state elections

Kelly Frost, right, who represents Ward 1, files for re-election Monday as Fallon Deputy Clerk Elsie Lee watches the councilwoman complete the paperwork.

Kelly Frost, right, who represents Ward 1, files for re-election Monday as Fallon Deputy Clerk Elsie Lee watches the councilwoman complete the paperwork.

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF
Candidates filed through March 7

Incumbent Fallon Councilwoman Kelly Frost made history Monday morning during her filing for re-election.

Because of a bill passed during the 2021 session by the Nevada Legislature, city elections will now be conducted at the same time with county and statewide races. Most municipalities have held their elections in odd years. Candidates for county and statewide offices will still file at the Churchill County Clerk’s Office, but those interested in the Fallon City Council are required to sign their paperwork at the city clerk’s office.

The city has openings for two wards. Frost currently represents Ward 1 while Ward 3 Councilman James Richardson is termed out. Frost said she hopes voters will look at the entire ballot of candidates during the voting process since the usually follow county and state races.

“I am kind of worried this council race will get lost at the bottom of the ballot,” Frost said after filing.

To overcome that, Frost said she urges voters to look at the candidates carefully and do their homework to see who will best represented the ward.

Ward 1 generally encompasses northwest Fallon north of U.S. Highway 50 while Ward 3 covers the eastern half of the city. For specific information, call the City Clerk’s office at 775-423-3040.

Frost has served on the City Council since 2014. She has seen the opening of the Pennington Life Center and the new Pennington Fallon Youth Club building, the completion of the Front Street Project and the fifth phase of the Maine Street Beautification Project, as well as improvements at the Fallon Municipal Airport and in the city’s electrical system.

Frost serves as mayor pro-tem, chairs the Fallon Convention and Tourism Authority and serves as vice chair of the Churchill Entrepreneur Development Association Board of Directors. She is a member of the Churchill Fallon Economic Development Board, Western Nevada Development District, Debt Management Commission and the Domestic Violence Task Force.

Frost, a Fallon native, graduated from Churchill County High School and the University of Nevada, Reno with a degree in political science. She later became certified to teach.

According to Frost, she taught for two years in Battle Mountain and then worked at her parents’ convenience store, learning about the challenges small businesses face. She also taught government for 26 years at Churchill County High School and retired in 2018. She is married to Russ Frost, and they have three children, Dawson, Allison, and Samantha who are all attending UNR.

The County Clerk’s office was also busy at 8 a.m. on Monday with incumbents filing to include Assessor Denise Mondhink-Felton, County Clerk/Treasurer Linda Rothery, District Attorney Art Mallory, Sheriff Richard Hickox and Recorder Tasha Hessey.

The filing period ends March 18. The primary will be held June 14. Early voting for the primary runs from May 28 and ends June 10. Polls will be closed Memorial Day. Early voting for the General Election runs Oct. 22 through Nov. 4 and the polls will be open Nevada Day. The general election is Nov. 8.

Offices that will be up for election in 2022 in Churchill County include:
Statewide offices
U.S. Senate
U.S. Representative in Congress, District 2
Lieutenant Governor
Secretary of State
State Treasurer
State Controller
Attorney General
State Senate, District 16
State Assembly, District 38
Supreme Court Justice, Seat A
Supreme Court Justice, Seat E
Court of Appeals Judge, Department 1
Court of Appeals Judge, Department 2
Court of Appeals Judge, Department 3
Fallon, Churchill County
School Trustees, four seats
Churchill County Assessor
Churchill County Clerk-Treasurer
Churchill County District Attorney
Churchill County Sheriff
Churchill County Recorder
Churchill County Commissioner (District 2)
Churchill County Public Administrator
Fallon City Council, Wards 1 and 3
Mosquito, Vector and Noxious Weed Abatement Board
Filing dates for all offices will take place March 7-18.
Check your voter registration here:
Register to vote here:
Mail Ballot Preference form (opt-out):
Also available at


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment