Greenwave news: FFA and HOSA recognition

The Churchill County School Board recognized HOSA (Future Health Professionals) at their last meeting.

The Churchill County School Board recognized HOSA (Future Health Professionals) at their last meeting.

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF
The Churchill County School Board of Trustees recognized the Churchill County High School FFA students who placed in the 94th Nevada FFA State Convention at their March convention in Reno.
Trustees also recognized Churchill County High School HOSA (Future Health Professionals) students who placed at the Nevada HOSA State Leadership Conference in March in Reno.
NHS induction
Churchill County High School conducted last week the National Honor Society induction. NHS elevates a student’s commitment to the values of scholarship, service, leadership, and character. Membership in NHS is both an honor and a commitment that has helped shape the Honor Society’s reputation for excellence. It has made a valued asset among our administrators, faculty members, students, parents, and community.

Colton Tousignant is this year’s recipient of the Churchill Entrepreneurial Development Association Business Council scholarship.

Students inducted include: Class of 2022 — Shaylee Coldwell, Rosalyn Cornejo, McCartney McAlexander and Nelly Ruiz Ramirez. Class of 2023 — Royce Mills, Marissa Rau and Annalee Reyna. Class of 2024 — Edmond Allyn, Brady Alves, Corin Cartwright, Caitlyn Dock, Ava Elkins-Faught, Teon Erwin, Sebastian Escartin, Elena Holt, Camryn Hook, Reece Hutchings, Kadynce Kratka, Andrew Lattin, Ronald Lee, Jessalyn Lewis, Madison Lewis, Samuel Lords, Johary Lozano, Daniel Madera, Kayleigh Moss, Carter Paul, Payton Smith, Kanigh Snyder and Kiley Wallace.
CEDA Business Council scholarship
Churchill County School District and the Churchill Entrepreneurial Development Association Business Council announced the first recipient of the CEDA Business Council Scholarship is Colton Tousignant.
“It is always so great to see a student’s hard work pay off big for them,” said Churchill County High School Principal Tim Spencer. “I know this is just the first step in a much brighter future for Colton, and will help build the foundation of his future success. ”
In September 2021, the CEDA Business Council worked in collaboration with the Churchill County School District and Oasis Academy to create a workforce development program to give students a chance to experience career opportunities in the Churchill County business community.

The FFA students who attended the March convention and were recognized by the Churchill County School Board are, front row, from left, Dawson McKnight, Gracyee Tibbals, Caitlyn Dock and adviser Tamra Herschbach. Back row from left are Liam Few, Addison Diaz, Jeremiah Prinz and Gavin McLean.


Students enrolled in the “Building Fallon Forward - Churchill County Work-Based Learning Program” earn high school credit while working in a paid internship with a local business. Internships align with educational programs and career pathways offered by Churchill County High School and Oasis Academy.
Currently, 16 local businesses created profiles within the program that will be matched to enrolled students. Those businesses are as follows: Ad-West Realty Services, Berney Realty, Bighorn ATV & Small Engine Repair, CC Communications, Cheek Construction, Churchill County, Churchill Entrepreneur Development Association, Fallon Food Hub, GEM Drafting, Glo Medical Aesthetics, Janess Digital Ink LLC, Louie’s Ace Home Center, Oasis Online, Papa Murphy's Take and Bake Pizza / Skeeters Ice Cream and More, Parsons Drilling Inc., and The Fallon Post.
Students enrolled in the Building Fallon Forward’s program are also eligible to apply for a new $1,000 scholarship funded by the CEDA Business Council. This scholarship is intended to assist students further their career aspirations by helping to fund enrollment in a trade school, certification, or degree program after graduation.

Churchill County High School students from three classes — 2022, 2023 and 2024, were inducted into the National Honor Society last week.



Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment