Carson High wrestling

Senator wrestling puts 10 on all-region team

Carson High’s Jesse Oliva works against a Damonte Ranch wrestler in late January. Olivia earned a second team all-region selection for his performance on the mat this winter.

Carson High’s Jesse Oliva works against a Damonte Ranch wrestler in late January. Olivia earned a second team all-region selection for his performance on the mat this winter.
Photo by Carter Eckl.

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF

Carson High boys and girls wrestling had 10 wrestlers selected to the Class 5A all-region teams released last week.

All 10 wrestlers were state tournament qualifiers and were selected for the all-region squad based on how they finished in the regional tournament.

Leading the way for the Senators were first team selections Amber Perkins, Ellah Olson, Lucas Wold and JT Heaton.

Perkins and Olson were both regional champs on the girls side while Heaton took second at 165 pounds.

Wold was third at 126 pounds, marking his second straight season on the all-region team after picking up a first team selection as a sophomore at 120 pounds.

Heaton’s selection to the all-region team was his second, second team selection in the last two seasons.

At the state tournament, Olson went on to win a state title at 152 pounds.

On the second team all-region squad, Carson had six different wrestlers earn postseason selections.

At 106 pounds, Jesse Oliva was a second team selection after taking fifth at regionals.

Jett Rupert picked up a second team selection at 138 pounds as did heavyweight Dominic Porter, who both were fourth at the regional tournament.

Jon Barnes-Hurt, Christian Ray and Darron Rey were the three other Carson High wrestlers to pick up all-region honors.

Barnes-Hurt was a first team selection in 2022 at 145 pouds.

Class 5A all-region teams


Coach of the year – Joe Imelli, Spanish Springs

Lower weight wrestler of the year – Tobery Foreman, SpSp

Middle weight wrestler of the year – Preston Harn, McQueen

Upper weight wrestler of the year – Shane Hepner, McQ


Coach of the year – Mike Klapp, Reed

Lower weight wrestler of the year – Katie Ward, McQ

Upper weight wrestler of the year – Maria Aiono, Reed


106 pounds

1st team – Tobey Foreman, SpSp; Manakai Kim, Galena; Brady Porter, SpSp.

2nd team – Jared Hurlburt, Damonte Ranch; Jesse Oliva, Carson; Jaedin Low, DR.

113 pounds

1st team – Justin Ruinz, SpSp; Nick McGee, Reno; Luis Tapia, Reed.

2nd team – Dikota Diamond, Galena; Gage White, SpSp; Gunnar Bleeker, Douglas.

120 pounds

1st – Noah Perez, SpSp; Cade Ross, McQ; Cayden Long, Damonte Ranch

2ndCody Highfill, Douglas; Jacob Lewis, Douglas; Tristan Diaz, Galena

126 pounds

1st – Abner Lopez, SpSp; Evan Krantz, McQ; Lucas Wold, Carson.

2nd – Brady Olson, Damonte Ranch; Victor Valdez, Douglas; Patrick Dye, Galena

132 pounds

1st – Noah Perez, SpSp; Logan Obert, Galena; Edward Osborn, Damonte Ranch

2nd – Kadrick Lewallen, SpSp; Calen Sharron, Galena; Kayne Thomson, McQ

138 pounds

1st – Dominic Ruiz, SpSp; Eli Barajas, McQ; Chris Kosturos, Reno

2ndJett Rupert, Carson; Kai Blumenthal, Douglas; Brady Dixon, Galena

144 pounds

1st – Gianni Barajas, McQ; Cooper Milligan, SpSp; Damien Taylor, Reed.

2nd – Alexander Hayes, Reno; Darrel Chaney, Reed; Cole Denney, Galena

150 pounds

1st – Preston Harn, McQ; Liam Malley, Reed; Kolby Benge, SpSp.

2nd – William Fisher, Reno; Tony Uccelli, McQ; Jon Barnes-Hurt, Carson.

157 pounds

1st – Graham Lemons, Reno; Porter Gresko, SpSp; Dalton Nixon, Douglas.

2nd – Eugene Atkinson, McQ; Drake Polak, Reed; Dekai Spears, DR.

165 pounds

1st – Breck Worthen, Reno; Jeffrey Heaton, Carson; Garytt Ostrander, SpSp.

2nd – Michael Kiker, DR; Caine Klein, Douglas; Nate Koval, McQ.

175 pounds

1st – Shane Hepner, McQ; Braelen Toles, DR; John Riley, Galena.

2nd – Jose Solis, Reed; Jackson Phillips, SpSp; Jaxon Nixon, Douglas.

190 pounds

1st – Jonathan Eubanks, Reed; Caden Fowler, SpSp; Aaron Tekansik, Douglas.

2nd – Louis Uccelli, McQ; Cole Lemons, Reno, Christian Rey, Carson.

215 pounds

1st – Connor Nordt, SpSp; Sage Adie, Douglas; Heath Doering, Galena.

2nd – Owen Layfield, Reno; Roan Zigenis, Douglas; Darron Rey, Carson

285 pounds

1st – Trey Smith, McQ; Kyler Blazer, DR; Michael White, Douglas.

2ndDominic Porter, Carson; Jorge Gonzales, Reno; Justin Hoefler, SpSp.


100 pounds

1st – Sophie Workman, Fernley; Ella Kavanagh, Douglas.

2nd – Viviana Zavala, SpSp; Vanessa Romero, Elko.

107 pounds

1st – Shaylee Gavin, Fernley; Bella Coronado, McQ

2ndJasmine Tamondong, Douglas; Natalia Hernandez, Elko.

114 pounds

1stAmber Perkins, Carson; Emily Smith, Reed.

2nd – Ella Parker, SpSp; Anastasia Curitti, Coral Reno.

120 pounds

1st – Katie Ward, McQ; Bliss Moody, Douglas.

2nd – Ava Parker, SpSp; Ekko Kosturos, Reno.

126 pounds

1st – Meredith Nash, Reed; Nadera Muhammad, Fernley.

2nd – Maria Mendoza-Flores, Fernley; Keyona Apodaca, Elko.

132 pounds

1st – Aneka Mathews, Reed; Penelope Ruiz, Elko.

2nd – Maliyah Moore, Sparks; Ruby Barrett-Reese, Fernley.

138 pounds

1st – Ainsley Gordon, Reed; Alyssa Winters, Reed.

2nd – Kaytlynn Sibrian, McQ, Kylee Hamilton, Elko.

145 pounds

1st – Whitney Heit, Bishop Manogue; Maria Depalacio, Hug.

2nd – TeTiare Pedro-Cabanoda, Reed; Mulania Jones, Elko.

152 pounds

1stEllah Olson, Carson; Hannah Montoya, Spring Creek.

2nd – Jaclyn Daley, McQ; Elece Baron, Reed.

165 pounds

1st – Jasmien Morales, McQ; Camila Martinez, Sparks.

2nd – Simaima Masi, Wooster; Ella Evangalista, Reed.

185 pounds

1st – Maria Aiono, Reed; Jennifer Galvan, Battle Mountain.

2nd – Avianna Robles, Elko; Anete Chavarin, South Tahoe.

235 pounds

1st – Olivia Jenkins, Galena; Ellie Smith, Reed

No second team.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment