Fall sports: Greenwave athletes finish with postseason honors

Fallon’s Baylor Sandberg picked up Athlete of the Year honors for the 3A North.

Fallon’s Baylor Sandberg picked up Athlete of the Year honors for the 3A North.
Photo by Thomas Ranson.

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF

Three players picked up 3A Northern Player of the Year honors after leading the Greenwave football team to the playoffs earlier this month.

Rolland Grondin was named co-Offensive MVP along with Truckee’s Jace Estabrook, Trevor Hyde was named co-Lineman of the Year with Spring Creek’s Cody Acord, and Baylor Sandberg was named co-Athlete of the Year with Elko’s Eli Finlayson.

Truckee’s Joseph Birnbaum was selected by the coaches as the Player of the Year, Josh Ivens was named Coach of the Year and Maxx Ellermeyer was named Defense MVP after the Wolverines completed an undefeated season, including winning back-to-back state titles after defeating SLAM Academy.

Quarterback Bryce Adams, wide receiver Ethan Tarner and offensive lineman Garret Payne were selected to the All-Offense First Team, while Payne, who was also a defensive lineman, and defensive back Brady Alves were selected to the All-Defense First Team.

Alves, as a receiver, and offensive lineman Rafe Brown were named to the All-Offense Second Team, and linebacker Caden McKnight was named to the All-Defense Second Team. Honorable mentions included offensive lineman Sean Reeder, defensive lineman Benito Cortez, linebacker Manuel Karaway and receiver Carter Paul.

All-state selections have not been announced.


After its best season in a decade, including an outright league championship, the Wave volleyball team landed one on the all-state team and three on the all-region team as voted upon by the 3A Northern coaches.

Senior outside Reece Hutchings was named to the 3A All-State First Team and 3A Northern First Team, while senior utility Kiley Wallace and junior setter Vernita Fillmore were selected to the All-Region Second Team.

All three were named to the 3A East First Team. Fallon’s number of selections to the all-region team were tied with Elko for the most from the 3A East. Elko senior libero Pacey Harris was named the region’s MVP.

Also receiving postseason honors were senior middle blocker Kaitlynn Hoffman, senior outside hitter Keliah Brady and junior setter Halle Johnson, who were named Honorable Mention.


The Wave soccer team’s resurgence this year was recognized by the coaches in the postseason voting.

Fallon, which captured the No. 2 seed from the 3A East and won its first playoff game in a decade, had one player selected to the all-state team and six to the all-region team.

Goalkeeper Natalie Jacques was named to the 3A All-State First Team and All-North First Team. Defender Sofia Basurto and forward Karlie Simper were named to the All-North Second Team, and midfielders Kylee Simper and Kaylee Craig, forward Yasmien Laceste were named Honorable Mention.

Jacques, Basurto and Karlie Simper were also selected to the All-East First Team, while Laceste, Craig and Kylee Simper were selected to the Second Team. Honorable Mention honors went to Kira Johnston, Jada Anatasio and Kourtnie Simper.

Elko’s Abigail Ramirez was named the 3A East MVP and Fernley’s Tammi Valentine was named Coach of the Year.


The Greenwave boys soccer team had one of its best seasons in recent memory, capped off with landing one on the All-North team and four on the All-East team.

Midfielder Edwin Ugalde was named to the All-North Second Team and All-East First Team, and defender Caesar Ledesma was selected to the All-East Second Team. Anthony Gonzalez and Brian Mendoza received Honorable Mention.

Elko’s Nico Avila was named the division’s MVP and Alonso Lujan was named Coach of the Year.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment