Fallon’s Alves named NIAA Top 10 student-athlete

The NIAA named Brady Alves to its annual Top Ten list.

The NIAA named Brady Alves to its annual Top Ten list.
Photo by Thomas Ranson.

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF

Fallon’s Brady Alves was named to the Nevada Interscholastic Activities Association Top Ten Student Athletes of the Year program.

"This is an outstanding award which recognizes student-athletes who exemplify what high school activities and athletics are all about," NIAA Executive Director Timothy Jackson said in a news release. "While the requirements sound stringent, we know these student-athletes exist as evident by the group of individuals selected this year. It is our goal through the Top Ten program to find and honor these superb individuals."

The NIAA awarded $20,000 in scholarships to high school student-athletes in the Silver State through the Top Ten Student-Athletes of the Year awards. The student-athletes of the year awards are presented to the top students who excel in sports, maintain a high academic status and make a difference in their community.

Alves played three sports for the Greenwave this past year.

He led the football team to a playoff berth in the fall and followed in the winter with another postseason appearance when the basketball team nearly upset Hug in the first round. Alves and the Greenwave baseball team won the 3A East regular-season title and Northern 3A regional tournament to advance to state for the second year in a row in May before finishing third.

This year’s honor for Churchill County High School is the 11th in the past 12 years after the streak of 10 was snapped last school year.

Maddie Stephens and Kyla Trotter were named to the NIAA’s top-10 list two years ago. In all, 18 Fallon student-athletes have received the NIAA award. Tristin Adams was the school’s first recipient in 2003 followed by Reece Jones (2004), James Stubbs (2006) and Katherine Withers (2009).

Fallon has had two student-athletes receive the award in the same year twice with Stephens and Trotter, and Trotter’s older sister, Ashby, and Tommy McCormick in 2020.

NIAA Top Ten — Northern Nevada

Brady Alves, Churchill County High School

Ryan Dolan, Galena High School

Conner Fecht, Pershing County High School

Carson Franklin, Reno High School

Mckenzie Garrett, Galena High School

Hudson Gerlits, North Valleys High School

Kaleigh Hanifen, Reed High School

Sydney Rogers, Reno High School

Eliza Ross, Spanish Springs High School

Shaloni Walker, North Valleys High School

Past CCHS Recipients

Tristin Adams (2003)

Reece Jones (2004)

James Stubbs (2006)

Katherine Withers (2009)

Cady Cordes (2013)

Erik Endacott (2014)

Ali Tedford (2015)

Tristen Thomson (2016)

Whitney Skabelund (2017)

Faith Cornmesser (2018)

Sean McCormick (2019)

Tommy McCormick, Ashby Trotter (2020)

Avery Strasdin (2021)

Maddie Stephens, Kyla Trotter (2022)


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment