Lombardo carries Churchill County

Getto, Hyde return to the school board

Matt Hyde, left, and Amber Getto, center, who both won another term on the school board, check the results with board president Tricia Strasdin.

Matt Hyde, left, and Amber Getto, center, who both won another term on the school board, check the results with board president Tricia Strasdin.

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF

Churchill County voters elected four members — two of them incumbents — to the nonpartisan school board and retained Sheriff Richard Hickox for four more years.

In addition to the races, county residents also cast their votes during the past two weeks leading up to the Nov. 8 in-person general election. They also voted for the six state constitutional offices as well as voting no on all three statewide ballot questions.

Churchill County voters also selected Joe Lombardo over incumbent Steve Sisolak for governor. Lombardo, the Republican sheriff of Clark County, won 6,926 county votes to Sisolak’s 2,183.

The six constitutional offices split with three Republicans capturing wins, and three Democrats outdistancing their Republican opponents.

“It (the results) were disappointing, but we’re grateful Sheriff Lombardo was elected,” said Gary Smith, chairman of the Churchill County Republican Central Committee. “He’ll carry the veto pen to protect unwise legislation.”

Despite the cold, wet weather a week ago during the general election, voters still lined up around the Fallon Convention Center during day-long consistent rain.

The Churchill County commission canvassed the votes on Wednesday. Incumbent Amber Getto led the seven school board candidates with 5,820 votes to give her a second term. Newcomer Joe McFadden chalked up 5,100 votes, while incumbent Matt Hyde, who will be serving his third four-year term, had 4,549 votes. Another newcomer, Julie Guerrero-Goetsch, finished fourth with 3,755 votes. Ivy Ward had 3,605 votes, Bill Post garnered 3,268 and Walter Henderson round out the field with 2,100 votes.

Hickox, who became sheriff after the 2018 election, easily defeated Daniel Sharp, 7,194 votes to 1,560.

Steve Ranson/LVN
Voters cast their votes during the general election at the Fallon Convention Center.


In the race for Fallon City Council Ward 3, Paul Harmon defeated Geoffrey Knell, 607-103. Harmon will replace James Richardson who decided not to seek another term.

Nevada voters approved the following ballots, but Churchill County voters rejected them.

Ballot Question Number 1 proposed to guarantee equal rights. Ballot Question Number 2 proposed to increase the required minimum wage paid to employees, and Ballot Question Number 3, which is also be on the ballot in 2024, seeks to amend the Nevada Constitution to allow for open primaries and ranked-choice voting.

Smith said he had hopes for Republicans taking all the down-ballot offices.

“It didn’t turn out like I wanted,” he said.

Steve Ranson / LVN
Churchill County voters stood in the rain for up to an hour to vote in the Nov. 8 general election.


The following vote totals from Churchill County are for the top candidates in each race. A “W” indicates the overall state winner.

U.S. Senator

Adam Laxalt (R) 6942

W — Catherine Cortez Masto, incumbent (D) 2382

U.S. Congress, CD-2

W — Mark Amodei, incumbent (R) 7439

Elizabeth Mercedes Krause (D) 1892


W — Joe Lombardo (R) 6926

Steve Sisolak, incumbent (D) 2183

Lt. Governor

W — Anthony Stavros (R) 6973

Elizabeth Burkhead Cano (D) 2039

Secretary of State

Jim Marchant (R) 6632

W — Francisco Aguilar (D) 2474

Attorney General

Sigal Chattah (R) 5755

W — Aaron Ford (D) 2832

State Treasurer

Michele Fiore (R) 6683

W — Zach Conine (D) 2250


W — Andy Mathews (R) 7110

Ellen Spiegel (D) 2056


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment