Early voting continues Monday for 2022 general election

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF

In-person early in-person voting will continue from Oct. 24-Oct. 28 and Oct. 31-Nov. 4 from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Carson City Community Center Gymnasium, 851 E. William St.

On Saturday, Oct. 29, voting will take place from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

The last chance to vote in person will be on election day, Tuesday, Nov. 8. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., also at the Community Center.

Carson City voters should have received their ballots in the mail this week. Mailed-in ballots must be postmarked by Nov. 8 and must be received by 5 p.m. no later than the fourth day after the election.

For information or to track your ballot, go to https://www.carson.org/government/departments-a-f/clerk-recorder/elections-department/2020-general-election-ballot-questions.

On the ballot, Carson voters will choose between Republican Lisa Krasner and Democrat Aaron Sims in the contest to represent state Senate District 16.

And they will pick between Democrat Shannon McDaniel and Republican P.K. O’Neill in Assembly District 40. There are two Supreme Court seats on the ballot but neither candidate has an opponent. The same is true in two of the three Appellate Court contests but the third appellate seat is open and contested by Rhonda Forsberg and Deborah Westbrook.

Two Carson City seats on the Board of Supervisors are up for election this cycle. Stacey Giomi is running for a second four-year term in Ward 1. Wade Bradshaw, a longtime public works official, is running against him.

In Ward 3, two newcomers are running: Curtis Horton and James Wells.

One issue that came up during a forum by the candidates was the scheduled expiration of the five-cent diesel fuel tax at the end of December. Giomi pointed out there will be no Carson tax on diesel fuel if Question 1 fails. To date, that tax has raised about a half-million dollars a year for road work in Carson City.

Horton said he too supports continuing that tax. He retired after 30 years with the city Public Works Department.

Wells, the retired former state Budget Director, said the tax is unlikely to survive a public vote and proposed a potential property tax dedicated to roads.

But Bradshaw said the timing for that tax is terrible and questioned how the money raised so far has been spent.

He also said ensuring the capital has enough water to support its growth is a key issue for Carson City.

Also on the ballot in Carson are William Hoen and Stacie Wilke-McCulloch seeking the Clerk-Recorder’s post. Aubrey Rowlatt chose not to run for another term in that office.

Two seats on the school board are also up this cycle. In District 1, Maria “Lupe” Ramirez and Jason Stinson are the candidates.

In District 6, Shanna Cobb-Adams faces Molly Walt.

In Lyon County, early voting will take place at the following locations:

• Lyon County Administrative Complex, 27 S. Main St., in Yerington from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 29. On Oct. 24-Oct. 28 and Oct. 31-Nov. 4 from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. And on election day, Nov. 8 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

• Fernley City Hall, 595 Silver Lace Blvd., in Fernley from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 29. From 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Oct. 24-Oct. 27. From 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Oct. 31; from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Nov. 1-Nov. 4. And on election day, Nov. 8 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

• In the Dayton Utilities Meeting Room, 34 Lakes Blvd., in Dayton from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. Oct. 24-Oct. 28 and Oct. 31-Nov. 4.

On election day, voting will take place from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. in the Dayton Community Center, 170 Pike St.

Lyon County has a number of contested races for district and local offices. But two significant races are uncontested. Outgoing Assembly Minority Leader Robin Titus is running in state Senate District 17 and Greg Koenig is the candidate in Assembly District 38.

In Assembly 39, Republican Ken Gray faces Democrat Janice Noble.

Two Lyon commission seats are open but the candidates running for them are unopposed as is Troy Villines for county assessor.

There are two running for clerk treasurer – Staci Lindberg and Erin Lopez – and two running for county recorder, Christine Smith and Anita Talbot.

Frank Hunewill and Brad Pope are running for Lyon sheriff.

Two school board seats are on the ballot. Tom Hendrix and Barbara Jones are running in District 4. Mike Hogan and Neal McIntyre are running in District 7.

There are two candidates for Fernley Mayor — Roy Edgington and Neal McIntyre. In Fernley’s council Ward 1, Ryan Hanan faces Lacy Raymond while Tim Bickerton and Stan Lau face off for the Ward 3 seat.

There are four candidates running for the at large Yerington council seat — Matt Gavin, William Kling, Shane Martin and Frank Pizzo.

Finally, three are seeking the Fernley Swim Pool GID seat — Michael Music, Suzanne Prouty and Patricia Smith.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment